Cakes and Cupcakes

Classic Yellow Cupcakes

IMG_1557In general I’m not a huge fan of cupcakes. I’d usually rather have pie, cheesecake, ice cream….pretty much any other type of treat. About once or twice a year though, a craving hits and I end up trying a new cupcake recipe. Year after year I’ve felt underwhelmed by everything I’ve made. This year however, I think I’ve found THE recipe. Brown Eyed Baker never lets me down and has been my favorite food blog for the past few years. I’ve tried tons of recipes off her site, and haven’t disliked a single one.

IMG_1492These cupcakes taste similar to cake mix cupcakes, which I guiltily admit have been my favorite since childhood. Cake mixes have all kinds of sketchy ingredients though, and I don’t find them as fun as making something from scratch. This recipe is the perfect alternative!

IMG_1525


Recipe

Ingredients:

1¾ cups cake flour
1¼ cups all-purpose flour
1¾ cups sugar
2½ tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 cup butter, at room temperature, cut into ½-inch cubes
4 eggs
1 cup whole milk
2 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350° F. Line two cupcake pans with liners; set aside.

2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, add the flours, sugar, baking powder and salt, and mix together on low speed for 1 minute. With the mixer on low, add the butter, a few cubes at a time, continuing until all the butter has been added and the mixture resembles coarse sand.

3. Keeping the mixer on low speed, add the eggs, one at a time, scraping down the sides of the bowl between additions. Slowly pour in the milk and vanilla and mix until combined. Increase the mixer speed to medium and beat for 2 minutes, until batter is smooth.

4. Fill the liners two-thirds full (about ¼ cup of batter) and bake for 15-20 minutes, until the centers are set and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool in pan for 10 minutes, then remove to a wire rack to cool completely before frosting.

Yield: 24 cupcakes

(Recipe from: Brown Eyed Baker)

One thought on “Classic Yellow Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

