Candy

Cranberry Fruit Jellies

IMG_2794.jpg

I had the morning off from work today for a snow day, and it was glorious. After waking up to an invigorating workout, (I started Insanity recently, and had no idea it would be so hard! Apparently I’m not in as great of shape as I thought I was.) I made myself a full breakfast and then started a goose that Alejandro got a few weeks ago in the crock pot. I was also able to sit down and plan out tons of ideas for the annual Christmas Cookie Marathon that my best friend Vanessa and I are performing this weekend (more about this later). Not sure why, but I somehow always get so much more done whenever I’m off work during the week than during the weekend. Guess I’m still in “work” mode?

After last week, I was ready to give gingerbread a break. I wanted to stay festive, so when I found this recipe in an old Better Homes and Gardens magazine my mom had given me, I knew at once it was what I wanted to make. These jellies taste like a cross between fruit leather and gummy candy and are the perfect little treat!

IMG_2848


Recipe:

Ingredients:

2 cups sugar
2 Tbsp. regular fruit pectin
½ cups unsweetened applesauce
2/3 cups cranberry juice
½ cup sugar

Directions:

1. Line a 9 x 4-inch bread pan with parchment, allowing paper to hang over edges. Set aside.

2. In a 2 quart saucepan, stir together 1 cup of the sugar and pectin. Add applesauce, juice, and a pinch of salt. Bring just to boiling, stirring constantly. Add remaining 1 cup sugar and return to boiling, stirring to dissolve sugar. Cook over medium heat until 225º F, stirring occasionally. This will take about 20 minutes. Once the temperature gets close to 225º, stir more frequently to prevent the mixture from burning.

3. Remove from heat and pour into prepared dish. Cool slightly. Cover and chill overnight.

4. Heavily sprinkle a piece of parchment paper with sugar. Turn mixture out onto sugar and cut into 1-inch cubes with a clean, hot knife. Roll in remaining sugar. Store in the refrigerator until ready to serve.

(Recipe from Better Homes and Gardens)

 

 

Leave a Reply

