Breakfast

Cottage Cheese Scrambled Eggs

wpIMG_3038_2.jpg

Cottage cheese is somewhere on my list of top 10 favorite foods.  I have to portion it out every time I have it because if I start eating it straight out of the container there is no guarantee I won’t finish the entire thing. It baffles me that so many people are disgusted by it (Alejandro is in this group). For all you cottage cheese haters, you really don’t know what you’re missing. I won’t hold it against you though. I am the queen of having weird food preferences and disliking things that everyone else enjoys. Ranch for example. Or salad. In this dish, the eggs mellow out the taste and change the texture of the cottage cheese enough that I think even those that normally dislike cottage cheese can enjoy it.

This is an extremely simple recipe. I just took my standard method for making scrambled eggs and added in cottage cheese for a little extra protein and creamy tang. I enjoyed it so much that I think I’ll make my scrambled eggs like this from here on out.


Recipe

Ingredients:

½ Tbsp. butter or bacon grease
2 eggs
milk
¼ cup cottage cheese
salt and pepper
chives

Directions:

1. Add butter or grease to skillet and preheat over medium heat. Using a fork, whisk eggs with a splash of milk until frothy. Stir in cottage cheese and season with desired amount of salt and pepper. Cook eggs, stirring frequently, until set and just a little moist. Sprinkle with chives and serve immediately.

Yield: 1 serving

 

 

Leave a Reply

