Cookies

Chocolate Mint Crisps

wpIMG_3757

I can’t believe Christmas Eve is tomorrow! It definitely snuck up on me this year. Now that I’ve graduated from college, I feel like my life has less structure. School semesters used to keep me in check, with a slew of deadlines always forcing me to stay up to date. Once finals were over, Christmas was always one week away. Now, days, weeks, and months all seem to blend together. Don’t get me wrong, I love that I no longer have to stress over each day’s classes/exams/assignments. I’m just still figuring out how to adult….at least until next fall when I start graduate school.

These cookies were another TOH first for me. They were a huge hit, with the majority of people who received a cookie plate dubbing these their favorite. Chocolate mint is just such a classic combination. The melt-in-your-mouth creamy mint topping with the rich, buttery chocolate cookie is oh so good.

wpIMG_3302


Recipe

Ingredients:

1½ cups brown sugar
3/4 cup butter, cubed
2½ Tbsp. water
2 cups (12 oz.) semisweet chocolate chips
2 eggs
2½ cups all-purpose flour
1¼ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
3 packages (4.67 oz. each) Andes mint candies

Directions:

1. In a heavy saucepan, cook and stir brown sugar, butter, and water over low heat until butter is melted and mixture is smooth. Remove from heat; stir in chocolate chips until melted. Transfer to a mixing bowl and let stand for 10 minutes.

2. With a mixer on high speed, add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Combine flour, baking soda, and salt; add to chocolate mixture, beating on low until blended. Cover and refrigerate for 8 hours or overnight.

3. Preheat over to 350º F. Roll dough into 1-inch balls. Place balls 3 inches apart on lightly greased baking sheets. Bake for 11-13 minutes or until edges are set and the tops are puffed and cracked. Immediately top each cookie with a mint. Let stand for 1-2 minutes, then spread melted mints over cookies. Remove to wire racks to cool until chocolate is set.

Yield: 6 dozen

(Recipe from TOH)

Leave a Reply

