Cookies

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

wpIMG_3946

Biscotti wasn’t originally on my Christmas baking list last year, but my friend Vanessa suggested it for our annual Cookie Extravaganza. I was a bit hesitant, because somehow I had never had biscotti before. She then mentioned the recipe included lots of anise, and I was immediately sold. I am a nut for anise, and absolutely LOVE anything black licorice flavored. This seems to be a somewhat unusual preference for my age group, but I totally embrace it. More for me, right? As for the biscotti, I ended up loving it! I can’t believe I waited this long to try it, as I’ve totally been missing out!

The biscotti turned out a little too crunchy to eat on its own. I actually think I prefer it this way, because this made it perfect for drinking with my morning coffee. A quick dunk made it soft without being too soggy, and the rich flavors of anise, cranberry, and pistachio really came out with each bite. Though I wouldn’t necessarily call it a healthy breakfast, it really could be a lot worse. The biscotti contains only a small amount of butter, and there is a decent amount of healthy nuts and cranberries packed in. Overall a win!

wpIMG_4033


Recipe

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
2 egg whites
1 whole egg
3 Tbsp. butter, softened
½ cup dried cranberries
½ cup slivered almonds
1/3 cup shelled pistachios, roughly chopped
zest of 1 lemon
1 Tbsp. anise seeds
cooking spray

Directions

1. Heat oven to 350° and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Combine flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in the bowl of a stand mixer. Add eggs and butter and mix on medium speed until a loose dough forms, about 1 minute. Stir in cranberries, nuts, zest, and anise seeds.

2. Transfer dough to baking sheet. Spray hands with cooking spray and form dough into a long, flat log, about 4 by 14-inches. Bake until outside of log is firm and browned, about 25 minutes.

3. Remove from oven and cool 10 minutes. Slice loaf into 1/4-inch thick slices. Arrange slices on baking sheet, return to oven, and bake until lightly toasted, about 12 minutes. Cool. Store in an airtight container for up to 2 weeks.

(Recipe from Epicurious)

4 thoughts on “Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Leave a Reply

