Pies, Tarts, Crisps, and Cobblers

Grapefruit Pie

wpIMG_5699_2

Here it is. I’m finally posting a pie recipe. Each week since I started this blog I’ve been thinking, “Since the name of my blog is ‘A Palate For Pie’, I really should post a pie sometime….” Somehow I’ve just now gotten to it. Though I baked eight pies around Thanksgiving and Christmas, I decided to enjoy time with family and didn’t bother photographing any of them.

When I first decided to start a food blog and was thinking of names, I knew I wanted “Pie” in the title. Here’s why. Pie was my first love. It was how I was first introduced to baking, and was my favorite thing to make with my grandmother. Though she was an all around fantastic cook, pies really were her specialty. Cherry, blueberry, and strawberry rhubarb were some of her best, and to this day they are still my three favorites. The crust used in this recipe is my grandmother’s and is the only one I ever use.

wpIMG_5804_2

When I first thought of trying a grapefruit pie and started researching recipes, I was pleased to find that there weren’t too many to choose from. I’m terrible at making decisions and prefer having as few options as possible. When I found this recipe and saw that the filling called for sweetened condensed milk, my mind was made up. My favorite key lime pie recipe uses it as well, and it always comes out creamy and perfect . Sure enough, this pie is wonderfully smooth and creamy, with a delightful grapefruit flavor.

wpIMG_5921

Recipe

Ingredients:

For the crust:
1¼ cups all-purpose flour
½ tsp. salt
½ cup shortening
2-3 Tbsp. cold water

For the filling:
1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
1¼ cup fresh squeezed grapefruit juice
2 eggs
1 egg yolk

candied grapefruit peel for garnish, optional

Directions:

1. To make the crust, combine flour and salt. Cut in shortening until the particles are pea-sized. Sprinkle mixture with cold water, 1 tablespoon at a time, tossing with a fork until all flour is moistened and a ball starts to form.

2. Preheat oven to 425º F. On a floured surface, roll pastry into a circle about 2-3 inches larger than your pie pan. Fold into fourths and place in pie plate. Carefully unfold pastry so it covers pan, avoiding stretching it. Fold and roll overhang under itself, pressing to seal and form a crust on the edge of the pie plate. Flute crust as desired. Using a fork, poke holes all along the bottom and up the sides of the dough to prevent bubbles from forming. Line pastry with foil, using enough so that foil overhang covers the edges of the crust. Fill with pie weights or a single layer of coins. Bake shell for 10 minutes; carefully remove foil and bake 2 to 4 minutes longer until pasty just begins to brown. Remove shell from oven and place on a cooling rack.

2. Reduce oven temperature to 325° F. Whisk together sweetened condensed milk, grapefruit juice, and eggs. Pour custard into cooled pie shell, leaving at least ¼ inch around the top. Carefully place pie in the oven and bake for 25 minutes, removing foil from crust during last 10 minutes of baking. It’s done when filling is set, but still slightly wobbly in the center. Remove from oven and place on a cooling rack for 30 minutes.

3. Chill pie in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours or overnight to set the custard. Serve chilled or slightly above room temperature.

Yield: 8 slices

(Filling recipe from Savory Simple)

 

 

2 thoughts on “Grapefruit Pie

Leave a Reply

