Game Meat

Elk Steak Burritos with Cilantro Lime Rice

wpIMG_5179_3

These burritos are pretty fabulous, and we eat them quite often. They taste similar to Chipotle’s burritos, but are a little different. Because a recipe isn’t really necessary to put together a burrito, the recipe posted below is all about the elk steak marinade.

wpIMG_5306_2

My grandpa was pretty big into hunting when I was growing up, but seeing as we didn’t have elk in Kansas, the only big game we ate was venison. Usually it was in jerky form, since game meat can be tough when cooked certain ways. Alejandro first introduced me to elk in college, and I really enjoyed the taste and leanness of it. His mom can fix a very tasty and surprisingly tender elk roast, and I’ve found that I definitely prefer elk over venison. I’ve tried fixing it a few ways with varying results, but this marinade is my favorite for making burrito meat. As long as the elk isn’t overcooked (I slightly overcooked the meat in the pictures because I stepped away and got distracted. Whoops. I often think I can get away without using a timer, but this is usually not the case.), the marinade produces juicy, flavorful meat.

wpIMG_5318_2

Recipe

Ingredients:

Elk steak marinade:
1 lb. elk meat
3 Tbsp. vegetable oil
1 Tbsp. lemon juice
1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
1 Tbsp. soy sauce
2 cloves garlic
½ tsp. pepper

large tortillas
cilantro lime rice

Monterey jack cheese
black or pinto beans
other desired fillings such as sour cream, salsa, and additional cilantro

Directions:

1. Mix together marinade ingredients. Cut elk meat into small pieces and add to marinade. Marinate in refrigerator for at least 1 hour or up to overnight.

2. Preheat broiler. Meanwhile, prepare filling ingredients. Discard marinade and broil elk meat for 3-5 minutes, to desired doneness. Assemble burritos and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

