Condiments

Homemade Chocolate Syrup

Homemade Chocolate Syrup

Out of all the new recipes I’ve tried recently, this one is hands down my favorite. I’ve been meaning to try homemade chocolate syrup for quite awhile now, and I wish I would have sooner! It turned out to be such an easy process, and the result is a chocolate syrup that tastes strikingly similar to store bought. The homemade version is slightly richer, making it even tastier.

Homemade Chocolate Syrup

I had some reservations as I was cooking the chocolate mixture, as it looked a bit gritty. However, by the time the mixture was removed from the heat, the syrup was perfectly smooth. When cooled it combined with milk wonderfully to create some seriously rich chocolate milk.

I really just can’t convey how excited I am about this recipe! I’m thrilled to have found a replacement for the preservative-riddled chocolate syrup from the store, and don’t plan to buy it ever again.

I have my 2016 Baking Bucket List  to thank for finally giving me the motivation to try this recipe! In addition to crossing off chocolate syrup, I’m also able to cross Velveeta off the list. Unfortunately, my attempt at homemade Velveeta didn’t go near as well as the chocolate syrup. The process was easy, and when cold the cheese had a taste and texture similar to Velveeta. However, it didn’t heat well at all. The cheese melted okay when I used it to make grilled cheese sandwiches, but it separated pretty badly when I tried to make chile con queso and macaroni and cheese. Not at all the creamy consistency I was going for.

Homemade Chocolate Syrup

Recipe

Ingredients:

1¼ cups granulated sugar
1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup water
¼ tsp. salt
2 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

1. In a medium saucepan, whisk together sugar and cocoa powder, breaking up any clumps. Whisk in water and salt and bring mixture to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring frequently. Reduce heat to medium-low and let simmer until slightly thickened, about 5 minutes.  Remove from the heat and let stand for 5 minutes.  Stir in vanilla.  Store in the refrigerator.

Yield: about 1 pint

(Recipe from Annie’s Eats)

3 thoughts on “Homemade Chocolate Syrup

Leave a Reply

