Quick Breads

Buttermilk Biscuits

Buttermilk Biscuits

How was everyone’s week? I’m sooo glad tomorrow is Friday. The past couple weekends have been a bit hectic, so I’m excited for a chill weekend at home.

Last weekend Alejandro and I took a trip back to our college town, Logan, Utah. Though the scenery there is gorgeous, Logan is a somewhat boring city with an interesting culture that I don’t quite jibe with. It was nice to reminisce, see old friends, and eat at some of our favorite spots, but we were quite glad to leave. After living in Colorado for nearly two years, I had almost forgotten how utterly dull it is there. Happily back home, I have a classically delicious recipe to share: buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Biscuits

Whenever I make these biscuits, I wonder why I don’t fix them more often. Though I periodically make them with dinner, I regularly overlook them as a breakfast option. Somehow pancakes, waffles, or french toast always seem to come to mind first, though I often prefer the simplicity of a biscuit.

This recipe produces incredibly tender, layered, and buttery biscuits that I absolutely adore. They are heavenly served with jam, or my personal favorite, honey.

Buttermilk Biscuits

Recipe

Ingredients:

2¼ cups all-purpose flour
1 Tbsp. granulated sugar
1 Tbsp. baking powder
¾ tsp. salt
¾ tsp. baking soda
9 Tbsp. cold unsalted butter, cut into small chunks
¾ cup buttermilk

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 400 °F and cover baking sheet with parchment paper. Whisk flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and baking soda in a large bowl. Cut in butter with a pastry blender until the mixture resembles a coarse meal. Add buttermilk and stir until large, craggy clumps form.

2. Transfer dough to floured counter. Knead dough a couple times and pat out to 1/2 to 3/4-inch thickness. Using a 3-inch round cutter, press straight down — twisting produces less layered sides — and transfer rounds to prepared sheet, spacing two inches apart.

3. Bake until biscuits are golden brown on top, about 12 to 15 minutes. Cool slightly, then serve warm.

Do ahead: Individual biscuits can be frozen, then baked directly from the freezer, increasing the baking time by a few minutes.

Yield: 6 biscuits

(Recipe from Smitten Kitchen)

Leave a Reply

