Pies, Tarts, Crisps, and Cobblers

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie | A Palate For Pie

This past weekend was the first in over a month that Alejandro and I were able to chill and enjoy our new home, and it was marvelous. No unpacking, no weddings or graduations, and no party hosting. It was really nice to have a break from it all.

Saturday morning I did some garage sale-ing while Alejandro went fishing with a friend. I came home with a few good finds, including two glass bottles for drinks, an old crate to plant flowers in, a gorgeous milk glass/ombre/hobnail/ruffle serving dish, a gardening book, and three cute crossbody purses that cost only $5 total! Garage sale-ing is something I did with my mom A LOT growing up, and I’ve really missed it! After I decided to call it quits on garage sale-ing, I popped into a nearby nursery I’d never been to. I couldn’t help myself, and ended up leaving with a few new perennials for the butterfly garden I recently planted in our backyard, including a dwarf butterfly bush, pincushion flower, and veronica. Everything I’ve planted in the garden thus far was grown from a single pack of seed mix, with the majority being perennials that won’t bloom until next year. I’m excited to have some flowers in the garden this year. Reeeallly enjoying having garden space!

After returning from our respective outings, Alejandro and I headed to his work to pick up some old pallets for a compost bin we’re planning to make soon. We then returned home to relax for the rest of the afternoon and evening, and enjoyed some homemade honeydew margaritas while grilling up dinner. We were also able to break out the new fire pit our friend Ben gave us as a housewarming gift and enjoyed a few s’mores.

Sunday we stayed home the entire day. We had a slow morning with lots of coffee and a big homemade breakfast, then spent the rest of the day doing yard work/gardening, and I also baked this pie.

Speaking of this pie, I seriously can’t get enough. This is the third strawberry rhubarb pie I’ve made in the past month, and I’ll probably make one or two more. It is that good. This time around, I tried something new with my grandma’s old crust recipe and subbed a quarter of the shortening for butter. I’ve read this tip from a few places and decided to give it a try, and I think I’ll make my crust this way from now on. Because the fat is still primarily shortening, the crust is as flakey as ever, and the butter lends the extra flavor shortening lacks. As for the filling, I’ve been using King Arthur Flour’s recipe for years now. I love that it uses a little more rhubarb than strawberries, and the pie comes out with the perfect consistency.

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie | A Palate For Pie

Recipe

Ingredients:

For the crust:
2½ cups all-purpose flour
1¼ tsp. salt
¾ cup shortening
¼ cup butter
4-5 Tbsp. cold water

For the filling:
1¼ cups granulated sugar
7½ Tbsp. flour
¼ tsp. salt
4 cups diced rhubarb, fresh or frozen
3 cups hulled, quartered strawberries, fresh or frozen
1 Tbsp. butter
coarse white sugar, if desired

Directions:

1. To make the crust, combine flour and salt. Cut in shortening and butter until particles are pea-sized. Sprinkle mixture with cold water, 1 tablespoon at a time, tossing with a fork until all flour is moistened and a ball starts to form.

2. Divide pastry dough in half. Place one half in the refrigerator. On a floured surface, roll the second piece of pastry into a circle about 2-3 inches larger than your pie pan. Fold into fourths and place in pie plate. Carefully unfold pastry so it covers pan. Refrigerate while you make the filling.

3. To make the filling, whisk together sugar, flour, and salt. Toss rhubarb and strawberries with the sugar mixture, then spoon filling into the refrigerated crust. Place dabs of the butter atop the filling. Return the pie to the refrigerator.

4. Preheat oven to 425 ºF. Roll out second piece of pastry and place on top of filled crust. Flute as desired. Brush with water and sprinkle with coarse white sugar, if desired. Cover edges of crust with foil.

5. Bake pie for 30 minutes, then reduce the oven heat to 375 °F, and bake for an additional 30 to 40 minutes, until filling is bubbling and crust is nicely browned. Remove foil about 10-15 minutes before taking the pie out of the oven. Let pie cool for at least an hour before serving.

(Filling recipe from King Arthur Flour)

4 thoughts on “Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Leave a Reply

