Bars and Brownies

Salted Caramel Brownies

Salted Caramel Brownies | A Palate For Pie

Hey guys. Let me start off by saying that I know it has been forever since I last posted. My life has been incredibly busy lately, mostly due to the fact that I started pharmacy school about a month ago. There have also been a few other things taking up my time. The week before labor day weekend we had a huge hailstorm that caused our basement to flood. The sidewalk outside the area that flooded was slanted towards the house, so we jackhammered all the concrete out. We then had to find a way to haul away all the concrete and fill in the empty space. We proceeded to have 7.5 tons of soil delivered to our house, and have been working on filling in all the areas where the concrete used to be, grading the soil away from our foundation. Alejandro also installed an underground PVC pipe that connects to our downspout and takes the water out into the middle of our lawn and away from our foundation. I’m quickly finding out that houses come with all sorts of surprises.

During labor day weekend near the time we were jackhammering out the concrete, my mom and her husband came out for a visit, and my stepdad built us a privacy fence! It was a huge project, but he did an amazing job. We are so happy with it! There is also another exciting thing happening in our life that’s keeping us busy. Really really thrilled about it, but will mention it at a later time.

Salted Caramel Brownies | A Palate For Pie

Though classes have been taking up most of my time, I’ve still allowed myself to bake and de-stress pretty often. However, the picture-taking and editing and post-writing has moved down to the bottom of my to-do list. While I’m in school my post frequency will be much lower than in the past. There is just way too much going on. My goal is to get at least one post out per month.

Salted Caramel Brownies | A Palate For Pie

As for these brownies, there isn’t much to say other than you definitely need them in your life. I finally have salted caramel sauce down, and it is now one of my favorite things to make. It is also one of my favorite things to eat, and goes wonderfully with these brownies, which deserve praise on their own. Though I’ve always liked brownies, they have never been my favorite dessert. When given the option of brownie vs. cookie, the cookie almost always wins. These brownies however, are something else entirely. They are fudge-y, gooey, and incredibly rich. This stems from the fact that the batter has a very high fat/sugar/egg to flour ratio. They are definitely not diet friendly, but oh so worth it!

Salted Caramel Brownies | A Palate For Pie

Recipe

Ingredients:

1 cup butter
4 oz semi-sweet chocolate
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
1½ cups flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
½ tsp salt
½ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

10 oz salted caramel sauce

Directions:

1. Preheat to 350 ºF. Lightly grease a 9×9 inch baking dish.

2. Melt together butter and semi sweet chocolate; Let cool slightly.

3. Whisk in sugar and eggs until well-blended, then mix in flour, cocoa powder, and salt. Fold in chocolate chips.

4. Spread the batter in the prepared baking dish. Bake for 35-40 minutes until a toothpick comes out mostly clean.

5. Let cool completely before topping with caramel sauce. Cover and store at room temperature. Brownies are best if left overnight before digging in.

Yield: 16 brownies

(Recipe from Something Swanky)

5 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Brownies

  1. Oh my goodness. Those look so good. Two of my favorite things chocolate and caramel. Please make this for me one day. I’m not much of a baker everybody knows that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

