Condiments

Salted Caramel Sauce

Salted Caramel Sauce | A Palate For Pie

Sooo, it’s the weekend. Normally I would be a little more thrilled, but my weekends nowadays are packed so full of homework that I don’t get much respite. And even if I’m not doing homework, I’m stressing about the fact that I’m not doing homework. It isn’t even Halloween, and I’m already counting down the days until Christmas break. Seriously.

Aside from the stresses of school and trying to accept that our house is going to be in a constant state of messiness for the next couple years, there is something new in my life that has been bringing me SO much joy. Alejandro and I got a puppy!!!!! I eluded to this in my last post with plans to reveal the news much sooner, but as I said, school happened. Her name is Stella, and she is a black and white springer spaniel. She’s the sweetest, cutest, most ornery little thing, and we both already love her to death. There will be pictures soon to come. No matter how busy I am, I make sure to set aside time to play with her each day, and I and take pictures of her every week to make sure I don’t miss any of the puppy moments!

So I know I said I was going to post every month, but we’ll see if that happens. Posting might end up being sparse during school semesters, with small bursts of recipes posted during my breaks.

Salted Caramel Sauce | A Palate For Pie

Today’s recipe is one of my all time favorite things to make, and although it sounds ridiculous, I practically get an adrenaline rush each time I get it right. Making caramel sauce is a simple process, but it does take some practice to get right. Pull it off the heat too soon, and it doesn’t develop much flavor. Pull if off too late, and it burns. I’ve burned more batches of caramel than I care to admit, but I think I finally have it down.

I love drizzling salted caramel sauce on all kinds of things, including Salted Caramel Brownies, Salted Caramel Apple Pie Bars, oatmeal, plain yogurt, apple slices, etc. The possibilities are endless!

Salted Caramel Sauce | A Palate For Pie

Recipe

Ingredients:

1 cup granulated sugar
¼ cup water
¼ cup unsalted butter, cubed
½ cup heavy cream
1 tsp. sea salt

Directions:

1. Over medium-high heat, whisk together sugar and water in a 2-3 quart saucepan. Once mixture starts to boil, stop whisking. You’ll have a few minutes before the sugar starts to turn, so now is usually when I measure out my butter and cream and set it next to the stove.

2. Allow the sugar to continue boiling until it turns a deep orange color, gently swirling the pan occasionally. This will take a bit of time, so be patient. Keep an eye on it though, because once the sugar starts to turn it can burn very quickly. The mixture stays clear for a quite a while, then the bubbling will calm and it will slowly tint yellowish, then orangish, then a deep, rusty orange.

3. Once mixture reaches this rusty orange color, immediately remove from heat and add the butter, whisking until melted. Quickly and carefully whisk in the cream. The mixture will boil vigorously and may seize up a little, but just keep whisking and it will smooth out. Whisk in sea salt until dissolved.

4. Pour caramel into a glass jar to cool. Once cool, cover and store in the refrigerator.

Note: The caramel thickens in the refrigerator and can be thinned back up by a quick pop in the microwave.

Yield: about 10 ounces

4 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Sauce

Leave a Reply

