Appetizers · Side Dishes

Sesame Shishito Peppers

Sesame Shishito Peppers | A Palate For Pie

This morning marks one week since we returned from our vacation in Oahu, and my brain is finally starting to return to reality. The first few days after the vacation was over, I missed Hawaii so much it was almost like I was in a daze. It was without a doubt the best vacation I’ve ever been on, and my mind was still lost in the jungle hikes, beaches, snorkeling, kayaking, and amazing food. The day after we got back, I bought acai, dragon fruit, guava, and papaya, trying to hold on to the wonderful tropical fruits I enjoyed while there. It just wasn’t the same, and after my small case of the blues I was finally able to return to life in Colorado and all the amazingness we have here. Our garden is in full swing, and we have something from it pretty much every night at dinner. I’ve already got a string of posts planned for fresh summer recipes that I’ve been making.

Sesame Shishito Peppers | A Palate For Pie

If you haven’t had shishito peppers before, you need to go out and buy some. Though simple, they are one of my favorite summer snacks and ridiculously easy to make. I know Trader Joe’s sells them, and if you have a Sprouts in your area they usually sell them too. Or better yet, grow some plants from seed next year. The peppers in this post are all from our garden. After a small, sad crop last year due to less than ideal growing conditions, I made sure to plant five shishito pepper plants in the sunniest place I could find. My planning worked, and the plants are loaded with peppers. 

This recipe was the one I used when I first tried shishitos a couple years back, and it is still one of my favorites. It is incredibly easy and produces tasty results. 

Sesame Shishito Peppers | A Palate For Pie

Recipe

Ingredients:

2 tsp. vegetable oil (or any high-heat cooking oil)
6 oz. shishito peppers
salt and pepper
½ tsp. sesame oil
½ tsp. soy sauce
½ tsp. toasted sesame seeds

Directions:

1. Heat a heavy-bottomed skillet over high heat for a few minutes until hot.

2. Add vegetable oil and shishito peppers and season with a generous pinch of salt and pepper, tossing to combine.  

3. Sauté peppers for 3-4 minutes, tossing every 45 seconds or so, until the peppers are mostly blistered on all sides.  

4. Remove from heat and transfer peppers to a serving dish.  Toss with sesame oil and soy sauce until peppers are evenly coated, then sprinkle with sesame seeds.

Yield: 2 servings

(Recipe from Gimme Some Oven)

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

